References

Humane Transport / Animal Welfare

Protecting animal welfare in Canada is a shared responsibility between governments (federal, provincial and territorial), and industry (producers, transporters and staff in registered slaughter establishments). Canadian provinces and territories have the primary responsibility for protecting the welfare of animals, including farm animals.

Transportation

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) is responsible for the welfare of animals during transport, as specified in the requirements of the Health of Animal Regulations, which governs the humane transportation of animals in Canada.

Animal Welfare

Canadian provinces and territories have the primary responsibility for protecting the welfare of animals, including farm animals. All provinces and territories have laws in respect to animal welfare.

The Criminal Code of Canada (Part XI, sections 444,445,446) prohibits anyone from wilfully causing animals to suffer from neglect, pain or injury. The Criminal Code is enforced by police services, provincial and territorial Societies for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals and/or provincial and territorial ministries of agriculture.

If CFIA inspectors encounter suspected cases of animal abuse or neglect that fall outside the CFIA‘s jurisdiction, they forward the necessary information to the appropriate animal welfare authorities.

Codes of Practice for the Care and Handling of Farm Animals

The Codes of Practice are nationally developed guidelines for the care and handling of farm animals. Canada’s code development process is led by the National Farm Animal Care Council

Animal Biosecurity

Putting preventive measures in place to keep animals healthy has been a long-standing and successful practice on Canadian farms. Biosecurity planning helps to ensure that practices routinely carried out on your farm are beneficial to animal health.

National biosecurity standards

The CFIA develops national biosecurity standards, protocols and strategies designed to protect animal resources in collaboration with producer organizations, provincial/territorial governments, and academia.

General biosecurity measures for producers and veterinarians

Additional information

Source: CFIA

Références

Transport sans cruauté / Bien-être des animaux

Au Canada, le bien être des animaux est une responsabilité partagée entre les gouvernements (fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux) et l’industrie (producteurs, entreprises de transport et personnel des abattoirs agréés par le gouvernement fédéral). L’assurance du bien être des animaux, dont les animaux d’élevage, relève principalement des provinces et des territoires.

Transport

L’Agence Canadienne d’Inspection des Aliment (ACIA) est responsable du bien-être des animaux durant le transport, comme le précisent les exigences du Règlement sur la santé des animaux, qui régit le transport sans cruauté des animaux au Canada

Bien-être des animaux

L’assurance du bien-être des animaux, dont les animaux d’élevage, relève principalement des provinces et des territoires. En effet, les provinces et les territoires du Canada ont prévu des lois en matière de bien-être des animaux.

Aux termes du Code criminel (Partie XI, sections 444,445,446, il est interdit de provoquer volontairement la souffrance d’un animal en le négligeant ou en lui infligeant une douleur ou une blessure. Le Code est appliqué par les policiers, les responsables des sociétés provinciales et territoriales pour la prévention de la cruauté envers les animaux, ainsi que les ministères provinciaux et territoriaux de l’Agriculture.

Si les inspecteurs de l’ACIA constatent des cas d’abus ou de négligence qui ne relèvent pas de la compétence de l’Agence, ils transmettent les renseignements pertinents aux autorités de protection des animaux concernées.

Codes de pratiques pour les soins et la manipulation des animaux d’élevage

Les codes de pratiques sont des lignes directrices élaborées à l’échelle nationale pour les soins et la manipulation des animaux d’élevage. Le processus canadien d’élaboration des codes est piloté par le Conseil national pour les soins aux animaux d’élevage.

Biosécurité animale

Les exploitations agricoles canadiennes appliquent avec succès des mesures préventives pour protéger la santé des animaux, et ce, depuis très longtemps. Un plan de biosécurité contribue à ce que les pratiques régulièrement appliquées à la ferme protègent la santé des animaux.

Normes nationales de biosécurité

L’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments élabore des normes, des protocoles et des stratégies nationales en matière de biosécurité pour protéger les ressources animales en collaboration avec les associations de producteurs, les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et le milieu universitaire.

Mesures de biosécurité générale à l’intention des producteurs et vétérinaires

Information supplémentaire

Source: ACIA